Save the Date! 1 Step Forward, 3 Steps Back: Addressing Gender-Based Violence in 2021

Violence against women and girls continues to be a devastating experience for individuals, families, and communities in peace, conflict, and crisis areas. 1 in 3 females experience sexual violence from partners, non-partners, or both according to the UN. Females face potential violence in their homes, workplaces, schools, and communities; as well as online. The current pandemic has exacerbated risk factors for violence against women and girls, such as poverty and unemployment. Hard won rights, laws and policies to protect women and girls are being challenged, and in some cases revoked.

For decades, around the world people have been working to address violence against women and girls through services to support survivors and their families, as well as education, activism, and advocacy to challenge and change attitudes, norms, policies, and laws. This work is individual, local, national, and global. Addressing violence, including its root causes, is central to ensuring gender justice and peace for current and future generations.

Join us on November 25 as to hear from speakers from different countries on their work on addressing gender-based violence. 2021 marks the 30th anniversary of the Global 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence, and November 25 is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women and Girls.

 

Thursday November 25

10am AST (Atlantic Canada)

3pm WAT (West Africa)

2pm UTC (Universal)

7:30pm IST (India)

Coady International Institute

St. Francis Xavier University
4780 Tompkins Lane
PO Box 5000
Antigonish, NS B2G 2W5
Canada

Phone: (902) 867-3960
Phone: 1-866-820-7835 (within Canada)
Fax: (902) 867-3907

Stay Connected

Want to learn more? Sign up to receive our newsletter and information on course offerings.